Update on Dyeplant Measurements

Standard

 

Gypsywort 4.5” 5.75”
Indigo,   False 9.75” 9.75
Dyer’s   Knotweed 8.75” 9.5
Dyer’s   Broom 10.75”  10.75
Indigofera 2.5” 2.25”
Baptista   Australis 3” 3.5”
Amaranthus   Hopi Red Dye #1 3.5” 7
#2 1.5” 5
#3 2.75” 7.75
Woodruff 1.5” 2.75
Safflower   #1 8.5” 13
#2 7.5” 15
#3 9” 15

 

As you can see, there was a boom in the growth of most of the plants, especially the Amaranthus.  This is in part to the large amount of rain we received this week and the warmth.  I think that the weather was perfect for most of the plants, and maybe not so perfect for at least one-the indigofera.  From what I have read, indigofera tinctoria can be difficult to grow, especially if you do not have the correct growing conditions.  The leaves of the indigo also look as if they have been gnawed on by bugs.  Well, I guess it’s live and let live.  I’m not going to spray chemicals just to get rid of bugs.   Bugs have to eat too!

About jmhaag

It's hard to describe myself without saying things that don't really define me. I don't mean to get all deep and crap, but I am a mom, a wife, a daughter and a sister. I have chronic illnesses such as fibromyalgia, depression, anxiety, possibly Lyme disease. But I am so much more then that. I am a creator, an artist, an observer, a person trying to figure it all out while still enjoying life. I am driven to find a purpose meant for me by God, and to live fully in His light and love.

Leave a Reply

