A Quick Update

Standard

Remember what it was like when you were waiting for Christmas to come?  Or your birthday?  I can remember counting down the days.  Biding my time trying to figure out what the big day would hold.  What kind of cake would my mom make?  (After all that is the most important).

I feel a little like that right now.  I want to count down the days until the garden will be in full bloom.  The problem with that is, no one can predict the future.  I can’t say that by July 14th, there will be a raised garden bed full of flowers waiting for me to throw them in water and simmer them until I can drain the dye from their petals.

But I am just SO very excited!!!!  The three boxes are built and filled with lovely dirt bought from Mill Pond.  I actually had to wait to get the garden soil from Mill Pond because they hadn’t mixed the garden blend for this year yet.  I think the guy I spoke to on the phone could tell I was getting anxious!

I have four trays of seedlings that are sprouting like the little champions they were all meant to be.  I even have gypsywort and indigo sprouting.  Not that these plants are difficult to grow, but I am worried that I am going to bank all of my hopes on dyes from my own seedlings.

Well, I am not going to.  I have a little insurance at hand.  I ordered a few plants from Companion Plants in Ohio.  I couldn’t resist.  They have potted plants that will ship in mid-May.  I can cross my fingers that if my seedlings fail, at least the plants I get from Companion Plants will survive.

The hardest part of this  journey is the fact that Minnesota has had to endure some beautiful weather over the past month and a half.  It’s been really hard to keep myself from going out and planting a few things.  I think it’s been hard for several people from going out to plant a few things.  Luckily I have restrained myself.  I have another month to wait, let my beauties indoors develop and grow into strong vibrant plants.

Wish me luck!  Cross your fingers and all that jazz.  I guess it’s best to leave it in God’s hands.  He knows what’s best after all.

About jmhaag

It's hard to describe myself without saying things that don't really define me. I don't mean to get all deep and crap, but I am a mom, a wife, a daughter and a sister. I have chronic illnesses such as fibromyalgia, depression, anxiety, possibly Lyme disease. But I am so much more then that. I am a creator, an artist, an observer, a person trying to figure it all out while still enjoying life. I am driven to find a purpose meant for me by God, and to live fully in His light and love.

Leave a comment