Stained Glass Punch Needle Tulips

Standard
Stained Glass Punch Needle Tulips

I have to admit, I love stain glass windows.  They rule.  I love the different colors in the glass that create the pictures in them.  I really wanted to recreate one in a punchneedle design, but my first attempt turned out looking, well, bad.  That is putting it lightly.  My major goal was to replicate a stain glass window scene that is in my church, St. Francis Xavier Catholic church in Buffalo, MN.  It is an old church with beautiful designs inside.  I have yet to have done humans in rug hooking or punch needle.  I don’t think I am ready.

Instead, I decided to take inspiration from a rug I have seen on London-Wul Fibre Arts website.  It is a store located in Moncton, New Brunswick (Canada).  Anyway, her blog address is http://thewoolworks.blogspot.com/.  This address is a great forum to discuss different things about fibres, working on projects, etc.

Anyway, my completed project is inspired by London-Wul Fibre Arts and stained glass.  I took pictures throughout the making of the piece of art just to get an idea of how things come together.

Here is the outline-or where the lead would go in stain glass windows.  I used three strands of floss to create this picture.

The flowers were finished next along with the butterfly.  I initially wanted to do a monarch butterfly, but in the end I went with a 70s mushroom looking butterfly.  And the following picture is a close up of the picture above.Finally, I took pictures of the completed artwork.  Well, everything has been punched, but not everything has been given a proper trim.  There are a few loose threads, odd little loops that wound up solo, but that is all minor details.  There is a full view and close up of the completed project below:

I really like the way this one turned out.  I used floss that I received from my husband’s grandma’s house after she passed away last year.  A lot of it was very old, and I don’t think I would have been able to find a match to today’s colors if I wanted to.  So a little piece of her is in this artwork as well!

About jmhaag

It's hard to describe myself without saying things that don't really define me. I don't mean to get all deep and crap, but I am a mom, a wife, a daughter and a sister. I have chronic illnesses such as fibromyalgia, depression, anxiety, possibly Lyme disease. But I am so much more then that. I am a creator, an artist, an observer, a person trying to figure it all out while still enjoying life. I am driven to find a purpose meant for me by God, and to live fully in His light and love.

Leave a Reply

