Using up the scraps

Standard
Using up the scraps

I decided to take all of the yarn I dyed last summer and use it to make a needle holder for my knitting needles.  The funny thing is I crocheted it!  I thought I would use up the different colors to create a needle holder.  What I made was really very neat.

The colors were very complimentary to each other and quite pretty. 

 

I still think it is unbelievable the brilliant colors that can be created by plants, especially those we consider weeds!

 

I ended up attempting to felt my needle holder, but I think some of the yarn I used was not entirely new wool.  Live and learn, right?

This picture below is a bit better/brighter.  It seems as though the picture above ended up taking on a blue tinge.  Not sure why, but it looks kind of neat!

 What is so interesting as I go through this process is how much I feel I still need to learn.  I think that I have achieved a certain level of competence, and instead I find out that I still have so much more to investigate.

Learning is like rowing upstream:  not to advance is to drop back.

~Chinese Proverb

 

Just as an added side note:  I once made this box for a class I was taking to become an elementary school teacher (it worked out really well as I sit here in my pajamas!) and I put a quote on there that has always meant a lot to me.  I am not sure who it is attributed to but I would also like to put it here because it says a lot about who I am as a person and what happens once I attach  myself to an idea:  Education is not the filling of a pail but the lighting of a fire.

Leave a Reply

