My Next Punchneedle Design

Standard

I have this super-duper aunt and uncle who have been gracious enough to allow us to go to their cabin in northern Minnesota in the summer.  It is a wonderful place to get a way with our kids because you can literally not see any one if you don’t want to.

My son, Jason, spends hours, well he actually spends all of his time either on the dock or in a boat fishing.  The rest of the time he is either eating or sleeping.  He has even been known to sit on the dock in the pitch black with a light up bobber while the other kids are toasting marshmallows.  Needless to say, he really LOVES fishing!

My next idea came from him and from this wonderful cabin.  We’ll see how it turns out, but this is the drawing I created.

As you can see, it is in need of a good ironing job.  I actually drew this several months ago and have been trying desperately to finish other projects before starting on this one.

I do have to say that I have rarely seen Jason sitting at the end of the dock, but I kind of liked the boy sitting at the end of the dock rather than standing.  Plus, then I don’t have to do his legs!

This is also the first design that I have tried to attach DMC floss to the colors that I wanted to use with the project rather than going at it haphazardly.  We’ll see.  I really like doing punchneedle because it is so imperfect and that there can be such variations in colors, unlike cross stitch.

I am really excited to start this project!  I love making these because I typically will draw and color the pictures and when I am finished, my husband will look at the completed punch needle design and the picture I drew and say surprised “It really looks like your drawing.”  I think I might actually be impressing him!  I am hoping to take pictures of this project while I am doing it to show the progression I have made throughout the process.  I have done this with another project (that I ended up not being all that excited about) and it was pretty neat to watch the slide show.

About jmhaag

It's hard to describe myself without saying things that don't really define me. I don't mean to get all deep and crap, but I am a mom, a wife, a daughter and a sister. I have chronic illnesses such as fibromyalgia, depression, anxiety, possibly Lyme disease. But I am so much more then that. I am a creator, an artist, an observer, a person trying to figure it all out while still enjoying life. I am driven to find a purpose meant for me by God, and to live fully in His light and love.

One response »

Leave a Reply

