Interest turns into new opportunities

Standard

I sometimes feel like I live in a spiderweb.  Strange, but yes, a spiderweb.  I tend to get interested in something-currently it is naturally dyeing (which is hard to do right now since everything is dormant, and I am just trying to juggle hockey schedules, being a gymnastics coach, being a mom, taking care of two kids at home, one of which is not mine, the list goes on and on-but whose doesn’t?).  I have all this yarn that I dyed this past summer and fall.  My trial runs.  My experiments.  First I was using the yarn to hook rugs.  It’s great, but I ended up with a lot of green and  yellow.  Nothing too exciting to make out of that, or at least I did not have inspiration to lead me down that path.

Instead, I started crocheting again.  I made a panda and frog hat for my nephew Walter.  They weren’t perfect, and I will never claim to be.

Then I left that to go back to  punch needle with floss.  I made this great snowman pillow for my mom, and a few other things that are nearing completion.  And since it is Christmas, I decided that I should attempt to make most of my gifts.

Here is where it starts to go completely off track.  But maybe it is also part of the chaos theory, only much, much different.  (Yes, I think I can also claim to have spiderweb thinking processes).  I decided I really wanted to make something else for my little man Walter.  It ended up being logistically impossible to do the way I wanted to do it, but through trial and error, I ended up making him something entirely different.  I want to say what it is, but I know that my sister is one of the few people who might read this, so I will not divulge the secret present just yet.

What I will say is, it has been interesting to begin down one path that has led me to so many different paths and then to look back and realize all of them are connected.  Maybe in some weird disjointed way, but they are connected.

I started thinking about this blog and how I named it dyednaturally.  I wanted to focus on using natural dyes, but I think it might turn into something much different.  And much different is okay with me.  After all, I live in a spiderweb daily.  I love the things I catch in my spiderweb, and I like that I can drop what I like and ingest everything I love.

Pictures of upcoming Christmas presents will be posted on December 26th or later!

About jmhaag

It's hard to describe myself without saying things that don't really define me. I don't mean to get all deep and crap, but I am a mom, a wife, a daughter and a sister. I have chronic illnesses such as fibromyalgia, depression, anxiety, possibly Lyme disease. But I am so much more then that. I am a creator, an artist, an observer, a person trying to figure it all out while still enjoying life. I am driven to find a purpose meant for me by God, and to live fully in His light and love.

3 responses »

    • I will have to take a few pictures of the things I made. I ended up making a cloth counting book for my nephew Walter, a scarf, felted wool mittens for my youngest daughter, a monkey hat for my youngest daughter, a panda bear hat for a neighbor’s 20 month old boy, a hat for my sister and my dad. I also attempted to complete a few cross stitch items, but they are a little more time consuming =). Maybe my next post will have to go towards all the things I have done. What I really need now is a little focus!!!

Leave a Reply

