Holy Moly(is that spelled right?)

Standard

Soooooo….I went to a local crafty craft store and began looking for books about punch needle, rug hooking, dyeing and found this wonderful book.  I thumbed through the book, looking at the beautiful projects that this women had completed.  I started to read a little bit of the book.  That is when it hit me.  I have barely scratched the surface.  I really have no idea when it comes to punch needle design.  I feel so blind.  So heartbroken.

Here I thought that I had taught myself.  I was a bona fide artist.  A person that taught myself how to do an art.

Then I found a book about dyeing with natural dyes.  Again…Here I sat with my eyes wide open, not realizing how little I really know.  I realized how little I had dug into the natural dyeing world.  I thought I had dove right in, right into the deep end.  I had found ways to dye yarn with plants.  I knew that I hadn’t gone into the full spectrum of colors, but I had found great resources for yellow and green.  Going through this book, I realized that I hadn’t even realized the potential of some of the plants that I had in my yard (that are now shriveled up and hiding for the winter).  I am at the super novice level, not even close to calling myself an emerging artist.  That’s what I want.  I want to be a fiber artist.  A dyer.  But I can’t even call myself that.  I can’t even try to be a fiber artist poser.

Why?  Because I really don’t know what in the hell I am doing.  I draw pictures on fabric.  I use different floss colors or yarn colors to create a desired effect, but there are so many other mediums that I can be using.  There are so many other materials that I could incorporate into my work that would greatly enhance it.  I suppose I just need to take it step by step.

I will have some new work to show very soon!  I am actually trying to do a time elapsed sort of slide show to show the way that my work progresses over time.  I think it will be really neat!  I would also like to put on an artshow at some point in the next six months or so.

About jmhaag

It's hard to describe myself without saying things that don't really define me. I don't mean to get all deep and crap, but I am a mom, a wife, a daughter and a sister. I have chronic illnesses such as fibromyalgia, depression, anxiety, possibly Lyme disease. But I am so much more then that. I am a creator, an artist, an observer, a person trying to figure it all out while still enjoying life. I am driven to find a purpose meant for me by God, and to live fully in His light and love.

2 responses »

Leave a comment