Jerome Textile Grant

Standard

I wrote a grant for the first time and submitted it yesterday.  I realize it is a longshot, but I am really hoping that entering this “contest” will help me on the road to a new….what????  I thought I would share a few of my art pieces with the world.  The first one is a punch needle design from a picture I found on the Internet.  I free drew the picture, but to be honest, I was inspired by another artists’ painting.

This is one of my favorites and I really enjoyed making it.  I wish that it didn’t take me so long to make them because I would try to make more of them.  This one is made entirely of DMC cotton floss.  It took me ten months to complete.  Although to be fair, I was working, raising three children and a husband, and trying to maintain.

This next one I made thinking I could use it as a part of a runner that would go on our stairs, but after I used glue to make the yarn stick, it shrunk and ended up not being the correct size.  In addition, all of the yarn except the dark brown, I hand dyed using plants that I collected.

Anyway, this is my work thus far.  I do have a few others that aren’t quite completed, but I  am hoping to finish by the end of the month.

About jmhaag

It's hard to describe myself without saying things that don't really define me. I don't mean to get all deep and crap, but I am a mom, a wife, a daughter and a sister. I have chronic illnesses such as fibromyalgia, depression, anxiety, possibly Lyme disease. But I am so much more then that. I am a creator, an artist, an observer, a person trying to figure it all out while still enjoying life. I am driven to find a purpose meant for me by God, and to live fully in His light and love.

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

